Final thoughts on Iceland

There is really too much about Iceland for me to write about- it deserves much more attention than I can give it.  I think the best thing to do is for you to go there. soonest.  Here’s the last bits all crammed together so this blog doesn’t seem like it’s only about Iceland with some other odds and ends on either side.

As my Iceland excursion wound down, I ran into The Swedes yet again, though Marrying Swede was off to get married (bet you didn’t see that one coming!).  I’m hoping to meet up with them in Stockholm when I ride by- a very cool group of guys.

july 1 023

What F-26 couldn’t do to me, the random switching from paved to gravel roads could.  Normally the transition is smooth and the gravel road is decent, this one was different.  They were paving the road and had just put down a layer of rubble, but hadn’t compacted it or changed the speed limit.  I hit this at about 80 km/hr and slowed down as fast as I could, but just couldn’t make it work.  When I actually fell I was going slow enough for the bike to get no worse than a few scratches and me a mildly swollen ankle for a few days.

july 1 042

Hitting the geothermal pools and seeing the landscape created by them was weird- I kept thinking I was at the site of some sort of industrial accident or pollution site.  Mind you, after a long day on the bike a soak in the waters was amazing!

august 5 054

august 5 060

august 5 080

A fantastic bit of rough road (F-862) led me to Dettifoss, the largest waterfall in Europe.  Once again, it was fairly deserted with no commercialization at all.

august 5 084

august 5 089

The day ended with the bike and I suitably dirty- note the helmet.  I think I might have taken some of the mud puddles a little on the fast side…

august 5 093

Being the forward thinking person I am, I didn’t book anywhere for the day before the ferry- when everyone was in the area to get the morning ferry.  As it had been raining and all the other accommodation was booked up, my sleeping arrangements were less than ideal.

august 5 125

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

