The Ghost of Christmas yet to Come

Back on the main road again I started to make good time and within a couple of days was at Martins Drift, along the Botswana-South African Border.  I had decided to spend the night at The KWA Nwanokeng Lodge for the simple reason that their ads and website always feature bikes on them- as good a reason as any I’d say.  Turns out the owner is an avid adventure rider and regularly leads groups out riding for multi-day trips on the Makgadikgadi Pan.  The downside, of course, is that he’s often gone on these trips and so I ended up missing him.  Feeling kind of bummed, but still enjoying all the bike pics that lined the walls of the bar, I took out my maps and started figuring out my plan to cross the boring part of South Africa down to Lesotho.

“The Phantom slowly, gravely, silently approached…”  Well, not really, he kind of looked around, waved and then walked over to me.

“You are about to show me shadows of the things that have not happened, but will happen in the time before us,” GSGuy pursued. “Is that so, Spirit?”  Well, it was more like a normal introduction and handshake but, with the pic, I think you’ll see where my mind was going.

Spooky future GSGuy, huh?

So, while perhaps not a harbinger of my future, if he had been I’d have nothing to complain about.  Anyone who at 76 lowers his Harley so he can still strap it on despite his arthritis is far from any ghostly spectre pointing at my unattended grave!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

