I am an old man

THUMP, THUMP, THUMP

Oooo… my head… How much did I drink last night…?

THUMP, THUMP, THUMP

What time is it, it’s already so hot…

THUMP, THUMP, THUMP

Just a sec, how much did I drink last night?  I had one fruity drink at the beach, then I went back to the campsite and had two beers with dinner, and then… And then I went to bed!  Why do I…

THUMP, THUMP, THUMP

have this thumping in my head?!

Simple dude- you’re camping on the beach in Salvador during Carnival, it’s 6 am, and one of the innumerable beach bars/clubs is having an early start to the day!

Ah, okay…

… I wonder if they’re doing a booze and breakfast type thing…?

I’d hit Salvador right at the culmination of Carnival.  Originally I had thought to go to Rio, but I didn’t want to rush the ride and everything I’d found said that Rio Carnival is for tourists, Salvador Carnival is for purists.  So here I was and it was fun.  For one night.  Well, a good half of one night.   It was loud, it was energetic, it was huge.  It was also like being at a fantastic house party where you didn’t know anyone and didn’t know the language.  People would start a conversation, but after our limited repertoire of shared language was exhausted, they’d move on.  Painted girls would bounce around me an get me to dance with them, only to give me a kiss and flounce away as my blank stare greeted their rush of Portuguese.  Despite this, I had a great time- and to be honest, a shared language isn’t required in these sorts of scenes, but I was happy to simply play the voyeur and then slink away well before the party truly got started.

Returning to the campsite covered in glitter paint and having a couple of quiet beers with the french guy on holiday from his work as an organ grinder in Avignon was much more my speed… as any old man would attest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

