Curse you Hollywood!

Hitting Ecuadors border with Colombia was a bit of an experience- not because the border was anything but pleasantly chaotic, but because I was entering Colombia.  I’d heard nothing but good things about it from others riders, but my long Hollywood indoctrination just wouldn’t quite stay quiet.

Finishing border formalities and a friendly, if stilted, conversation with some Argentinian riders it was time to see how the country really fitted the image…

At first the countryside was about what I expected, if more cultivated and less jungle warfare-y than my mind insisted it should be.

But, it wasn’t long before I was completely shocked by an almost Grand Canyon view.

It slowly started to get greener, but I’d already given-up…

I knew nothing about Colombia and just had to face it and let it come to me as it pleased.  I still had to see the infamous cities of Cali, Medellin, and Bogota, but considering how mistaken I’d been with the landscape, could it be possible that I wouldn’t die in a hail of gunfire?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

